Home

You were home.

My solid foundation.

Standing tall, my brick wall.

You were the reassurance completing those empty spaces.

You were the reminisce of old pictures.

You were the inviting door.

You were the peace I found in silence,

the excitement in laughter.

You were the roof above my head.

My protection.

I didn’t realise I was crushing underneath.

I tore apart,

Distant.

I left Home long ago,

But I still live in constant fear.

I dream about tomorrow yet live in yesterday,

In that Home of lies.

Your bitter frost reached the warmest depths of my heart.

And polluted me in shades of grey.

Of all the memories I ever made.

Of all the love I ever felt.

You are still Home.

As I walk through the lonely road,

I realise Home is where the heart is.

Now I know where I left mine.

One thought on “Home

Leave a Reply

